Specific steps need to be followed to avoid data loss from two Databases using the same volume
Details
| Detail name | Value |
|---|---|
| Changelog Number | 9620 |
| Type | Improvement |
| Status | Open |
Issue
The actual create step for a new database that clears the data volume that is being used is performed when the database is first started, not when the create action is performed in EXAoperation.
If two databases are configured with the same data volume, and the create step is executed for both, then there is no indication that starting either of them will wipe the data on the volume.
Workaround
If a second database should be used with the same data volume as an existing database, the following steps should be taken:
- Configure the new database with a disposable data volume
- Run the create step for the new database in EXAoperation
- Start the new database once with the disposable volume
- Switch the data volume of the new database to the one that should actually be used.
If you are unsure if these steps have been followed, they can always be repeated before starting such a secondary database.